What books will you read?

I have fifty-four items on my library hold list. Only one of these is a DVD. That means, for the mathematically-challenged, that I have fifty-three books just waiting to be read. All I have to do is change them from “inactive” to “active,” and in a few days, I should have a boatload of books sitting on the shelf in all their papery glory.

This begs the question: what am I going to read on Do Nothing But Read Day?

(image from Hachette Book Group)

Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl’s Southern Gothic atmospheric horror/romance Beautiful Creatures is on my short list right now. Unfortunately, the library system in Madison, WI, doesn’t own any copies yet! They are, however, being ordered and I have a copy on hold. If it comes in before the 20th, it will be read!

(image from the Candlewick Press)

I’ve heard great things about Kate DiCamillo’s The Magician’s Elephant, and it’s also on my hold list. I am 10th out of 73 holds.

(image from Scholastic)

Ruined: a ghost story, by Paula Morris, is another Southern Gothic story about ghosts in New Orleans. It has a gorgeous cover. I am fourth in line!

In case you couldn’t guess, I really like Southern Gothic stuff at the moment. I think it’s all the True Blood I’ve been watching. So it really depends on which books on my hold list arrive on what date. I’ll let you know the closer it gets!

What are you planning on reading on Do Nothing But Read Day?

About Amanda K

Amanda K holds a master's degree in Library and Information Studies. She's a housewife, a Planned Parenthood volunteer, a sewist, and an aspiring gourmet home cook. View all posts by Amanda K

6 responses to “What books will you read?

  • Mary-Justine

    I'm in! Have to line up my books. I'm open to suggestions from my soon-to-be librarian daughter.

  • Marc

    A very good question. My current read is Last Words, but I doubt it will last me that long and I am not quite sure where I'll go from there. If I have the patience, I will probably try to track down an eBook edition of The Man Who Ate Everything, which I've been wanting to read for quite some time now. That's the peril of going paperless, I suppose. If I can't find that, I think I'll reach for The Golem's Eye as it's been quite some time since I read the first installment of The Bartimaeus Trilogy.

  • Katy Kavanagh

    I plan to read, read, read. Hopefully not term papers. And I hope it is snowing and I can look out the window. Can watching snow be part of DNBRD? Or is that cheating?

  • Béka

    Hey,I've just read about your idea, and I'm totally in 🙂 So be sure I'll join you on Sunday. I'll read Pillars Of The Earth by Ken Follett, and, if I finish it, maybe In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.So, let's read, and have a good time :)Emese from Hungary

  • Lilithcat

    I've got a couple of stacks set aside from which I'll choose. Here's the Plan!

  • Marissa

    I've got four books in progress that I want to finish: Espresso Tales, Shiver, L'Abbe C, and Reviving Ophelia. Then I have a stack of unread books that includes Blue Bloods, My Soul to Take, This is All, Montana 1948, The Absentee, etc.

