What I’m reading on DNBRD

This Sunday, I’m going to attempt to tackle four young adult novels. There is no way that I’m actually going to finish them all, but I like to be prepared. (I was a Girl Scout, after all.)

The Dust of 100 Dogs by A.S. King

I think I’m looking forward to this one the most, because it involves pirates and treasure. Emer was a pirate in the late seventeenth-century, but she was slain just before she was to run away with her lover and live happily ever after. A curse is put on her, and she must live the lives of 100 dogs before she can become a human again. When she finally gets through all 100 lives, she’s an American high school student… one who needs to get down to Jamaica to claim her treasure. I think the premise is really cool, so we’ll see if the book delivers. All of the books I’m reading on Sunday, incidentally, are from the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) list of Best Books for Young Adults from 2010 and 2009.

The other three books I chose for Sunday are all realistic novels; I don’t normally choose realistic novels for myself, but sometimes reading outside my comfort zone can be enlightening. (Especially since my comfort zone involves zombies, freak shows, and serial killers.)

King of the Screwups by K.L Going

Liam is popular, athletic, stylish… but it’s not enough for his father, who thinks he can’t do anything right. Liam gets kicked out of his house and goes to live with his gay, glam-rocker, disc jockey uncle in a trailer in upstate New York. In this new place, he can become whoever he wants to be. So who will he choose to be? K.L. Going is also the author of Fat Kid Rules the World, which was a Printz Award Honor book.

Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd

Ireland in the 1980s was a troubled place. Fergus is a courier for Sinn Féin, his brother is on a hunger strike, and he and his uncle find a body in a bog.  Fergus attempts to make sense of the world around him as the mystery of the bog child deepens. I’ll admit, I know next to nothing about Irish history (it’s not a strong point in northern New Jersey schools), so I’m excited to read this one.

In the Path of Falling Objects by Andrew Smith

Jonah and Simon are hitchhiking across the country during the Vietnam War when they accept a ride from the wrong person. The man in the car is insane, and his female companion is desperate. Oh yeah, and Jonah and Simon have a gun. I’m especially looking forward to this book, partially because one of the Library of Congress Subject Headings is, “Psychopaths — Juvenile fiction.”

One last thing: you guys are planning on reading some great stuff on Sunday! The responses range from “the Bible and hymnal at church,” to “Harry Potter!”, to “I have no idea.” Keep up the good work!

About Amanda K

Amanda K holds a master's degree in Library and Information Studies. She's a housewife, a Planned Parenthood volunteer, a sewist, and an aspiring gourmet home cook. View all posts by Amanda K

One response to “What I’m reading on DNBRD

  • Ash

    In the Path of Falling Objects sounds really interesting. Hope you enjoy your books!

    P.S. I noticed in your bio you graduated from Iowa and went to Madison for library school. I’m a student at Iowa and I’m looking at going to Madison after I graduate- small world!

