What I actually read…

For those of you playing along at home, you might remember that I had rather substantial plans for what I was going to read, or try to read, on DNBRD this past weekend. My list was long, and it was varied and I would have been happy to read something from even half of the books. It was not to be.

Here’s what I actually read:

  • Four “art of X” interviews from the last two issues of the Paris Review: John McPhee, Ray Bradbury, R. Crumb, and David Mitchell. I can recommend them all, for different reasons. They reminded me that I should pick up a copy of Fahrenheit 451 and that I should order a copy of Mitchell’s new book, A Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet.
  • Most of A Thousand Peaceful Cities by Jerzy Pilch. Open Letter books never fail to please.
  • Several essays from Orhan Pamuk’s Other Colors (which I nicked from my wife’s reading pile).
  • A few chapters of Little Dorrit, which we’ve been reading out loud for more than a year now (at the pace of the original serial publication) and will finish this month.
  • A few chapters of He Knew He Was Right by Anthony Trollope; this is my bedtime reading. Nothing settles the mind into a peaceful state of sleep-readiness like Trollope.

So, what happened? I slept in, thereby losing valuable early morning quiet reading time. There was a rather important (at least to me) World Cup match on in the morning. Then the sun came out and my bicycle began whispering about the open road and was not to be denied. We made a huge lasagna to last the better part of the week. And finally, there was a bottle of chilled vinho verde to dull my already tired senses.

In the end, I’m going to blame the excess of sunlight (even though it rained most of the morning). It was an excellent summer Sunday, but certainly not a day on which I could do nothing but read.

How did your DNBRD turn out? Let us know in the comments.

About Amanda K

Amanda K holds a master's degree in Library and Information Studies. She's a housewife, a Planned Parenthood volunteer, a sewist, and an aspiring gourmet home cook. View all posts by Amanda K

4 responses to “What I actually read…

  • Ash

    I finished two books, The Imperfectionists and Orlando, and read about 250 pages of The Passage. I was very pleased with what I finished although I did take a nap as well!

  • Chiska

    We ended up making an unscheduled trip part way through the day. I had planned to do a bit of grown-up reading, but ended up just reading with my kids. I had them make a stack of books the night before so that when we got up nothing would get in the way of reading them. It didn’t. We spent a couple of hours reading together. It was fun to watch my 2 and 4 year old discover different books.

  • Laurie

    Mine also was not what I planned. Up in the night with the child, slept in late to make up for it, laundry, groceries, life in general…

    I did get to read for about an hour before dinner and a few hours before bed. Still plugging away on Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I am almost done and then not sure what I will turn to next.

  • Jessica Standifird

    I didn’t get as much reading done as I’d hoped, but I did manage to spend most of the day snuggled up in bed with a book….it helped that I was bedridden with a fever and cough. I read between passing out, and still managed to finish one small book, half of another book, and read some poetry from one of my anthologies. I wish I had been more with it, but am glad in a way that I was sick- it kept me glued to a book whenever I was awake. : )

