Harry Potter, re-read

I love the Harry Potter books. I have a long relationship with them, spanning middle school, high school, college, grad school, and beyond.

The last time I read the series all the way through was when Book 7 came out, in 2007. This summer, I decided to re-read all of the books, straight through. It was glorious.

It took about three weeks to get through Books 1-7, and it would have taken less time if I hadn’t had a busy schedule during August. (Side note: I’m unemployed (boo!), so I have lots of free time for reading.) I had some days where I didn’t read anything, and one day where I finished the second book, read the entire third book, and started the fourth book.

Verdict: this series really holds up. Really. The seventh book, which I read in one day the first time around, is fantastic. Everything comes together so nicely! Reading the series from start to finish makes all those little connections so much more interesting. The characters age realistically, and, going along with that, readers who start out with the first book at age 11 will be mature enough to read the seventh book when they get to it, probably.

If you haven’t read the Harry Potter books in a while, add them to your reading list! Every library everywhere should have them, and if they don’t, they are silly.

Question for you, dear readers!

What’s your favorite series?

About Amanda K

Amanda K holds a master's degree in Library and Information Studies. She's a housewife, a Planned Parenthood volunteer, a sewist, and an aspiring gourmet home cook. View all posts by Amanda K

5 responses to “Harry Potter, re-read

  • Jeyna Grace

    Wow, you read the 7th book in one day? Thats fast!

  • Amanda Lanyon-LeSage

    Yeah, it was fast, and by the end of the day, I was a mess. Part of that was emotionally; I didn’t want the series to end! But also, reading 800 pages in one day is not recommended.

    The second time around, I read the 7th book in about three or four days, and that was much better. I actually absorbed it, and took my time!

  • Marissa Antosh

    I loved all the Ramona books growing up. Still do. I push them on kids at the library. 🙂

  • Tami

    “The Cat Who…” series from Lilian Jackson Braun are an oldie but a goodie for me. Familiar characters, familiar setting, and a mystery – it’s comfort food in a book.

  • lifewithfelber

    Stephen King’s “Dark Tower” series. Hands down. It’s brilliant. Of course I had to slog through “The Gunslinger” the first time around, but if you go back and read it later, things make more sense.

    I’m now inspired to read it again!

