Do you remember what you were reading?

Today is the 10th anniversary of 9/11. Ten years seems like a long time, but it goes by in the blink of an eye. I’m sure a lot of people remember that day, but do you remember what you were reading at that time?

It seems like a silly question…almost “Who CARES what I was reading when 3,000 people died?” I think it’s important to reflect on past reads, though, because they shape us, no matter how subtly.

My grandmother kept track of what she read, and so I started to do so as my New Year’s resolution in 2001. And so, in the beginning of September 2001, I read 1000 Acres by Jane Smiley and Shakespeare’s King Lear (I was in high school AP English). Looking back, I remember how sad these two particular stories were and how there was a sense of hopelessness around them (they are essentially the same story, Jane Smiley’s is an updated version of Lear.) I remember finishing 1000 Acres and just sitting there like a lump, like, how much more sadness is there to bear?

I’m not trying to be a downer, I just find it interesting that what we read often reflects our environment at the time.

Do any of you keep a list of what you read? Do you remember what you were reading?

About Marissa Antosh

Librarian-to-be, artist, red enthusiast. View all posts by Marissa Antosh

2 responses to “Do you remember what you were reading?

